Chelsea: Former Italy managers back Jorginho to win Ballon d’Or award


Jorginho has been a catalyst in the successes of Italy and Chelsea this year (Picture: Getty)

Former Italy national team managers Marcello Lippi and Arrigo Sacchi have both backed Chelsea midfielder Jorginho to win the Ballon d’Or award.

Jorginho has been a mainstay in both the Chelsea and Italy midfields this year, playing a key part in the Blues’ Champions League final victory over Manchester City, before triumphing with the Azzurri in this summer’s European Championships – becoming just the tenth player in history to win both competitions in the same year.

The 29-year-old is joined by the likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe and Robert Lewandowksu on the 30-player shortlist for the prestigious award, which is due to be announced at a ceremony in Paris, France on November 29.

The Italy midfielder joins fellow Chelsea stars N’Golo Kante, Romelu Lukaku, Cezar Azpilicueta and Mason Mount in being nominated for the prize after the west London club enjoyed a stellar end to the 2020-21 campaign.

But despite some of the biggest names being in contention to win the trophy, Lippi and Sacchi both think that it deserves to be given to the former Napoli man.

‘Jorginho should receive the Ballon d’Or this year, not the usual suspects,’ Lippi, who managed Italy to a World Cup win in 2006, said during the Festival dello Sport event in Trento.

Former Italy managers Marcello Lippi and Arrigo Sacchi.

Marcello Lippi and Arrigo Sacchi both want Jorginho to win the Ballon d’Or (Picture: Getty)

‘I absolutely agree,’ added Sacchi, who himself took charge of the Azzurri between 1991 and 1996.

The pair are not the only people who think that Jorginho should be awarded the trophy – his club boss Thomas Tuchel also believes he ‘deserves’ the accolade, before questioning the need for such a prize.

‘He deserves it, he is one of those who deserve to win the Ballon d’Or,’ Tuchel said.

‘He is a very intelligent player and it’s a pleasure to be his coach. The list of 30 candidates…

Source : metro

Comments are closed.